The circle game

A couple of days ago, I walked into town to do some shopping.  Nothing unusual in that, as it’s not far, and I do it quite often.  It was very hot, and I was keen to do my shopping quickly, and get back home.  I walked around the supermarket, and made my way to the checkout.  As it got to be my turn, I realised that I didn’t have any money to pay.  I had left my purse on the kitchen table, so I apologised sheepishly and profusely to the very young man at the till.  He was lovely, and assured me that it happened ‘all the time’.  All the time?  I wondered what he actually thought of a middle aged woman going shopping without any money, but he simply got someone to take my shopping back to the shelves, and I made my way home to get my purse.  His mum should be proud of him.

But, I had a flashback.  You see, it wasn’t that long ago that I was that young cashier (well, it was actually over forty years ago, but certainly doesn’t feel like it), in the haberdashery section at Woolworth’s, assisting ‘old’ women with the new fangled monetary system.  Oh, well.

Listen to the words of this song , written by a brilliantly wise very young woman.  If you’re middle aged, you’ll listen to it more than once.  It sums it all up.

Leave a Reply

