Swimathon

I did the Swimathon.  For the second time.  That may not be a huge thing for most people, but for me it was actually quite massive.  I hide it a lot, especially from my swim buddy, but I fight the panic when I’m swimming.  Why do I panic?  I have no idea.  But it’s not good.  I’m facing my fear, and it’s getting easier, but anyone who panics will know that it is a very unpleasant experience.  I didn’t really want to do the swimathon again, as I hated it the first time, but my swim buddy really wanted to, so I agreed to do it with her.  I am so glad that I did.

I really feel like I achieved something, swimming 100 lengths in an hour and 35 minutes.  I only panicked near the end when I got cramp in both my calves.  But I kept going, and managed the challenge. 

Image

Not only did I do it, but I also raised £105 for Sport Relief.  I never asked anyone for money, as I find that uncomfortable, but as soon as people heard what I was doing, they found my webpage and donated.  Thank you so much to those people who had faith in me.  I felt really good that I was part of it. 

For Mother’s Day, I have been promised some 1:1 swimming lessons.  I really hope that is going to help me turn a corner…..

Leave a Reply

