Knitting

I learnt to knit when I was a child.  I don’t actually remember when I was taught, or who taught me.  Perhaps it was at Primary School, when the boys were making toolboxes in woodwork, or something, I don’t know.  But what I do know is that I’ve never been that good at it.

So I decided to get better.  I started with a couple of easy projects, just straightforward knitting of blankets (one for me, and one for my daughter, who had cable stitch in hers, dont-you-know).  And I really enjoyed it.  So I am going to carry on.  I knitted the swimmer, and my project now is a pair of socks.  The first one is not as neat as I’d like it, but it is my first attempt, so I hope the second one will be better.

Image

That is, if I get the second one knitted.  I hope I don’t get the dreaded SSS (Second Sock Syndrome).  It’s a real thing, apparently.

When I went to London after Christmas, I went to Liberty’s and made a few purchases.  This was one of them:

Image

A lovely little jar of buttons, from the Haberdashery Department.  I thought I might sew a couple of them on to my socks when I’ve finished them, just to finish them off nicely.  

Leave a Reply

