Last Night of the Proms

I’m always a teeny weeny bit sad when it comes to the Last Night of the Proms, and this year I was probably sadder, as the TV coverage has been amazing.  Three concerts weekly, plus a highlights programme.  Bliss.

However, all good things must come to an end, and the Last Night was spectacular.  I had tears in my eyes when Joyce DiDonato sang ‘Danny Boy’, as it always reminds me of my dad.  I remember when a colleague at work left, I whistled a rendition of Danny Boy for her, no-one except me really knew why (although her boyfriend is called Dan, so there was a sort of connection there, and she was always whistling at work).  There wasn’t a dry eye there at that time, either, although I suspect for different reasons.

Anyway, it’s all over now, until next year.

Well done the BBC – another winner!  (quote from Monty Python, I believe)

Next weekend, another sad end – the open air pool will close!  Oh no, summer’s coming to an end…..

I need cheering up …..

Leave a Reply

