The Third Peak

Well, it only took a year, but I finally manged it – the third peak.  You can find the story of Peaks one and two here: 

So, it was time for Peak number three, Ingleborough.

We put our best feet forward to start the trek:

Best feet forward

Best feet forward

 Note the new boots.  My old ones  were ten years old, and were really finished, so I was given new ones for my birthday.  I thought I had broken them in….

This was the start of the walk:

The start

The start

…and here is the cave mentioned in the signpost:

Ingleborough cave

Ingleborough cave

It was a beautiful walk.

Trow Gill

Trow Gill

Trow Gill

Trow Gill

Gaping Gill

Gaping Gill

Gaping Gill Lunch spot

Gaping Gill Lunch spot

It's this way.  follow me!

It’s this way. follow me!

Looking back

Looking back

Looking back

Looking back

Little Ingleborough - not too far to go now!

Little Ingleborough – not too far to go now! See? It’s just up there!

Pen-y-Gent from Ingleborough.  Nearly there!

Pen-y-Gent from Ingleborough. Nearly there!

The top!

The top!

It took a long, long, time, but I made it!

Made it!

Made it!

Legs and body fine – feet, well, not so good.  The boots are so comfortable – until you walk up mountains in them!

But, I managed it.  That’s it, the third Peak done.  Have to think of something else for next year….

Leave a Reply

