Walk Ten

Last Saturday, I took part in Walk Ten.  If you don’t know what that is, you can find information here. 

It was amazing – people from all walks (excuse the pun) of life joined in.  If you are able to, do something like this for charity.  I say if you are able to, because I almost wasn’t.  I had walked for several miles previously in new boots (all will be explained in the fullness of time), so I was actually suffering.  Not half as much as cancer sufferers, mind you, which was what kept me going.  I managed the Walk Ten in an hour and forty minutes, which was really good going, I thought.  I feel quite strongly that those of us who are able to, should help out the less fortunate amongst us. 

And I am one of the fortunate ones.  I have my health, and my family are happy and healthy.  That is fortunate indeed.

It was poignant.  This is what greeted us on our return from the walk:ImageRemembrance lanterns, arranged in a heart shape.

I’d dedicated one:

ImageFor my father, who I still miss to this day, almost thirteen years on.  It was almost his birthday, too, which was a lovely feeling.

Not to be too morbid, it was a beautiful evening, and one that I’ll remember throughout the winter nights.

Image

Harewood House lit up for the evening

It was beautiful.

Walk Ten 3 Walk Ten 7

Leave a Reply

